What’s a good school for someone planning to do film or be on film crew?

what’s a good school for someone planning to do film or be on film crew?

8 Likes

Hello, Mimi
If you want to be in OC area I recommend CSU Long Beach. The theater art department in that campus is pretty good. I hope the information will be helpful

4 Likes

I agree for CSULB Steven Spielberg went to that school.

1 Like

I’d also say USC a friend of mine goes there and he says Hollywood directors actually come in and teach at the university, so that’s pretty cool

2 Likes

Both of those schools are great for film! Another amazing option is ASU. I have been told that they are within the top 25 schools for visual arts and design

1 Like

Currently a student studying photography/media. I also work in the film industry as a freelancer. I hope this helps. Don’t go for the school name or who the alumni are. I can assure you 90%, that you will be disappointed about the program when you actually get into. No matter what school it is. school is just an networking environment. To build relationships, That’s pretty much it. So, do your research and see what kind of schools have what and what programs and try to find alumni from that certain school and ask how the school is.

1 Like

USC, UCLA, Chapman, and there are Aton of other art schools! I am currently studying it now and if you want to know more let me know !

1 Like

I’m not a film major; however I do have friends at NYU Tisch and The New School who love their programs there. Definitely look into what the programs offer and see if they suit your interests!

1 Like

USC has one of the best film schools in the nation. A lot of alums have gone on to be apart of major films like Black Panther!

1 Like